Skip to content

Village & Government Contacts

Village of Garden City
Village Hall is the center of municipal operations including public works, water supply, combined paid/volunteer fire department, and police department. Garden City is governed by the Community Agreement, an unusual and highly successful non-partisan arrangement.

The mayor and trustees serve without pay, having been elected on a rotation basis through the four property owners’ associations. The system has been a major force in preserving the character and desirability of Garden City as a unique residential community.

Village Hall sign
2010 Village Board

John J. Watras

Trustee Nicholas P. Episcopia
Trustee Dennis C. Donnelly
Trustee Brian C. Daughney
Trustee John A. DeMaro
Trustee Robert A. Bolebruch
Trustee Richard V. Silver
Trustee Theresa A. Trouvé

Administrative Offices:
351 Stewart Avenue
8:30 am - 4:30 pm Monday - Friday

Village Administrator
Ralph V. Suozzi

Village Clerk
Brian S. Ridgway - Ext. 4053

Director of Public Works
Robert J. Mangan - Ext. 4003

Superintendent of Building
Michael D. Filippon - Ext. 4040

Village Auditor
James E. Olivo - Ext. 4154

Chairman of the Board of Commissioners
and of Cultural and Recreational Affairs

Kevin E. Ocker - Ext. 4077

Frequently Called Numbers
Building - Ext. 4040
Sanitation - Ext. 4031
Tax Information - Ext. 4156
Water/Sewer Service - Ext. 4021
Water Billing - Ext. 4160

Garden City Fire Department

Chief of Department
Chief William Castoro

Garden City Police Department

Board of Police Commissioners
Kenneth O. Jackson, Chairman
(Business) 516-465-4100
(Emergencies) 911
(Code Violations) 516-465-4100

Other Governmental Contact Information

Village of Garden City

Town of Hempstead

Nassau County

New York State

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

New York State Assemblyman Tom McKevit

New York State Senator Kemp Hannon

Congresswoman Carolyn McCarthy

United States Post Office

Scroll To Top